RIP GURU

On a personal day for me that was supposed to be fun and goofy, I wake up and start getting ready for the day and immediately find out that Keith Elam aka Guru had passed on the previous day. I knew about the coma and the heart attack and the overall shadiness of the situation with Solar (i’m sorry but fuck that dude) keeping information from Guru’s family. Now maybe I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, but I honestly was pulling for and kinda expecting a good end to this story. But the way my heart dropped Tuesday morning I can’t even explain.

I’d actually been thinking of a way to do a proper blog post on what Guru and ultimately Gang Starr as a whole meant to me. Do I attempt a mix? No way…major task that I wouldn’t even want to begin to feel the wrath and tsunami wave of potential criticism. Do I post some mp3s of some shit that I always loved? No way…if you’re a dj that calls themselves a hip-hop dj in any way and don’t have any Gang Starr in your crates already, I really don’t think you need to be calling yourself a hip-hop dj. period. So this tribute mix pops up today and there’s no better way to handle this. Premier is the only guy who needs to be doing a tribute mix. And everyone has to agree that overall, Premier handled this whole situation with undeniable class. This mix is no different. RIP Guru.

Guru – DJ Premier Tribute Mix

THE TRACKLIST
Gang Starr – Betrayal (Feat. Scarface)
Gang Starr – Intro (The First Step)
Gang Starr – Execution Of A Chump (No More Mr. Nice Guy Pt. 2)
Gang Starr – Name Tag (Premier & The Guru)
Gang Starr – Speak Ya Clout (Feat. Jeru the Damaja & Lil Dap)
Gang Starr – Peace Of Mine
Gang Starr – Eulogy
Gang Starr – Royalty (Feat. K-Ci & JoJo)
Gang Starr – Daily Operation (Intro)
Gang Starr – In This Life… (Feat. Snoop Dogg & Uncle Reo)
Gang Starr – Above The Clouds (Feat. Inspectah Deck)
Gang Starr – The Planet
Gang Starr – Daily Operation (Intro)
Gang Starr – Next Time
Gang Starr – 93 Interlude (Unreleased Moment Of Truth Interlude)
Gang Starr – The Militia II (Feat. Rakim & WC)
Gang Starr – Intro (HQ, Goo, Panch)
Heavy D. – A Buncha Niggas (Feat. The Notorious B.I.G., Busta Rhymes, Guru, Rob-O & Third Eye)
M.O.P. – Salute Part II (Feat. Guru)
D&D Allstars – Hot Shit (Feat. Big Daddy Kane, Sadat X, Guru & Greg Nice)
Gang Starr – PLAYTAWIN
Gang Starr – Soliloquy Of Chaos
Group Home – The Legacy (Feat. Guru)
Gang Starr – Conspiracy
Gang Starr – Stay Tuned
Gang Starr – Zonin’

Leave a Reply

