YOU SHOULD STILL BE PLAYING THESE BEASTIE BOY TUNES

Check Your Head was easily my favorite Beastie’s record. Their first jump back into live instrumentation since their early days and the whole record just has this dope experimental, almost punk vibe to it. I think Mario C has a lot to do with this development in their career but I could also be way off base because 1) I have no personal relationship with anyone in this camp and 2) I’m generally clueless with a lot of my assumptions about inspirational resources of songs and albums. REGARDLESS, I don’t hear a lot from this record other than “So Whatcha Want” and I hardly ever even hear that. Here’s 3 of my favorite cuts from this timeless record as we continue to prepare for POP ROCKS this Friday.

Beastie Boys – Pass The Mic
Beastie Boys – Gratitude
Beastie Boys – Finger Lickin Good

Leave a Reply

